Storm League and Cup Double Winners

The Saanich Fusion Storm rounded-out a near perfect season this past Sunday with a 1-0 victory over Bays United in the final of the Frank Leversedge Cup. Melissa Lee scored the winner in the 77th minute, tucking away a rebound after a shot by Danielle Lawrence was spilled by the Bays United goalkeeper. The goal came somewhat against the run-of-play as minutes earlier the Storm were reduced to 10-players after a red card was given to Emily Kazanowski for an accidental trip. It was extremely rough justice for Emily who had enjoyed an outstanding game alongside Heather Lawrence at the heart of the Storm defence. But the red card seemed to galvanize the ladies and they responded with the goal and in the end were worthy winners. Kate Whitmore and Abbey Lovick shared the shut-out and both made excellent saves to ensure the victory.

The Storm adds the Leversedge Cup to the LIWSA Division 3B championship they secured in February. Overall the Storm won fifteen of twenty games against only one loss, scoring sixty-one goals and conceeding only fifteen. Danielle Lawrence was top-scorer with 17. Considering how many games the Storm played with no subs or even short-handed it’s a great achievement for the ladies!

Storm players: Shannon Brown (Co-Captain), Natalie Bull, Emily Kazanowski, Danielle Lawrence, Heather Lawrence, Melissa Lee, Abbey Lovick, Dayle Lovick (Co-Captain), Meghan Murphy, Tien Nguyen, Samantha Postle, Christina Scott, Mary Smyth, Leigh-Ann Soles, Tiffani Webb, Erin Webster, Kate Whitmore and Sarah Woodward.